Student Discussion
When applying to two completely different subjects - Printable Version

+- Student Discussion (https://www.studentdiscussion.co.uk)
+-- Forum: Applying to university (https://www.studentdiscussion.co.uk/forum-24.html)
+--- Forum: UCAS Forms & Personal Statements (https://www.studentdiscussion.co.uk/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: When applying to two completely different subjects (/thread-27847.html)

When applying to two completely different subjects - savethewabbit - 17/12/2008

hi,
i'm new to the whole applying to university thing, mainly because i'm from italy and we don't have go to through all this trouble here...
i'm in my last year of a classics school (high school, but i study things like ancient greek and latin amongst other things), and am in the process of applying to university in the UK through UCAS.
my main choice would be astrophysics, that has got nothing to do with my studies so far but it's my main passion. however, as i'm not too confident in my ability to get into such courses, i would also like to apply to linguistics which i think would be an easier course to get into considering my high school experience.

but i've got two problems/questions:

first thing has got nothing to do with personal statements, but - i've found *no* undergraduate linguistics courses in any university. they are all "MA", which i've been told means it's a postgraduate (master) course (they told me to only look for the Bs, like Bsc). i've been having the same difficulty with english language/literature etc. i only find MA courses, even if they're listed in the undergraduate degrees. did i get it wrong and MA is not postgrad but undergraduate? and if not, where are the linguistical / languages subject for undergraduates? do i have to apply to something like an introductory course and then pick a non-scientific subject?